Social Media in a Nutshell

New Media Communications was a very interactive course in which we explored various social media platforms and the most effective ways to utilize them for an individual business.  Each class was spent discussing a specific platform, and the benefits it provides to its users.  On the surface, it seems as if these platforms aren’t too complex, however, as you dig deeper, you learn more about analytics, appropriate content, and how to grab an audience’s attention.

One of the most important things that I learned throughout this class is that not just anyone can run a company’s social media sites.  It is very important to take into account all of the research and development that goes along with creating a successful social media presence.  It is very easy for people to claim that they have a social media presence, but if you’re not constantly keeping up with new trends, it is easy to fall behind.  I thought that my social media presence was fairly good, but from this class, I learned there is lots more I can do to advance my social media skills.  Although I am a fashion major, social media is something I would be interested in pursuing as a career.

Personally, my favorite social media platform is Instagram (probably because I have the most followers on that platform.)  I think that the content on Instagram, for me, is more appealing.  I enjoy seeing pictures and videos rather than long Facebook rants.  I also think that it is easier to create a following using this platform, whereas other platforms limit me in my creative expression.

I really enjoyed this class, and I thought it was interesting to learn about the “behind the scenes” aspect to all of the creative content posted on various social media platforms.  It is definitely a cool career, and something I would consider.  I know I can better improve my personal social media sites, and have a stronger social media presence.  0e15a3f1612eb62ae5990bbf94755304-615x435

Leave a Reply

